top of page

Awards of Excellence 2020 - Message from Kelly Biegler, Board Chair

For the past twenty years, the Education Foundation has been recognizing and awarding 33 outstanding high school seniors and their teacher mentors in 14 fields of study from L.D. Bell, Trinity, KEYS, and the Buinger CTE Academy at the annual Awards of Excellence dinner and ceremony.

When our Board created the Awards of Excellence two decades ago, it was with the idea that remarkable and talented high school seniors have worked hard, overcome adversity, found their passion, blossomed, and excelled above their cohorts and deserve the recognition by our community.

Many of the students we have recognized over the years have not been in the top percentile of their graduating class; still, they have distinguished themselves as leaders and exemplars in their respective fields of study. They represent the best of HEB ISD and what is meant by “Distinguished by Design.”

I speak for our entire Board, all our donors, community leaders, and supporters by offering our congratulations to each student awardee and their teacher mentor.

Our Awards of Excellence ceremony was scheduled for March 19th. It was the first of many event casualties due to the increasingly tragic impact of COVID-19 around the world. We had hope for a time when we could gather and celebrate our students, teacher mentors, and the 20th anniversary of the Awards of Excellence. As time has passed, we have come to realize that impossibility. What we do know, our amazing high school seniors and teachers deserve the recognition.

Beginning today, we are showcasing each award recipient and their teacher mentor in a short video clip posted on our social media sites. We will post a few each day. The final video combining all student and teacher mentor recognition will be posted on our website,, on May 19th, exactly two months after what was to be a night of celebration.

Please join us each day on Facebook and Twitter to view, love, comment, share, and retweet our posts as we honor the extraordinary students and teacher mentors that make up the Awards of Excellence Class of 2020.

bottom of page